Johnson County Schools Login: Staff/Student EmailCIITSInfinite CampusParent Portal

District Headlines
2 weeks ago
May 5, 2015

Dear Johnson County Teachers, Staff and Community,

In an effort to make known the most recent and correct information, I want to inform you that in the coming weeks, you will be receiving a tax bill from the Johnson County Clerk's Office for the additional recallable nickel tax (5.7 cents per $100 of assessed value on real estate).  As many of you know, Judge Preston ruled back in February that the recallable nickel tax was collectible and on Friday, May 1st ordered that bills on the additional tax be sent out.  Additionally, the Kentucky Department of Education has indicated that Johnson County Schools may go ahead and bill the recallable nickel and see no reason for the district not to proceed.

I also wish to correct a misconception.  The recallable nickel tax is only on real estate property.  Items such as vehicles, boats, ATVs, utilities and other such services are NOT taxed. 

The recallable nickel will enable Johnson County Schools to continue to offer our students and community with buildings that are the envy of other districts and stand out as the safest and most modern facilities in our region.  As we go forward, the vision for future facilities may include such projects as a new Meade Elementary School, a renovated or new high school, and the most up to date HVAC, electrical and energy efficient schools and buildings.

Our Johnson County Board of Education, and I as Superintendent, as well as each of you, have Great Expectations for our district in academics, athletics and all educational endeavors allowing our students to be college and/or career ready; along with being contributors not only today but in the future growth for Johnson County as a community and society.  The modernization of current and new educational programs in our district such as STEM, Biomedical, Technology and other career oriented programs will allow our students to be the most prepared and workforce ready in the region, if not the state.

Again, as a distinguished school district, the recallable nickel tax will ensure that our students and teachers will have the facilities and resources to continually meet the high expectations set forth by our community and enable our students to compete in the global workforce.

As educators and employees of Johnson County Schools, I hope you will help educate our community in the understanding that our students deserve the best and should always be our primary focus in investing in Johnson County and Kentucky's future.  As employees, parents and property owners of Johnson County, I encourage you to reach out to me if you have any questions. 

   Thomas  R Salyer
   Johnson County Schools
   253 North Mayo Trail
   Paintsville, KY 41240
   606-789-2530 Office
   606-789-2506  Fax

Central Elem.
Flat Gap Elem.
Highland Elem.
Meade Elem.
Porter Elem.
Central Elementary
Phone: (606) 789-2541
Fax: (606) 789-2527
Map & DirectionsCSIP
Flat Gap Elementary
Phone: (606) 265-3110
Fax: (606) 265-4409
Map & DirectionsCSIP
Highland Elementary
Phone: (606) 297-3674
Fax: (606) 297-6080
Map & DirectionsCSIP
Meade Memorial Elem.
Phone: (606) 789-5050
Fax: (606) 789-6755
Map & DirectionsCSIP
Porter Elementary
Phone: (606) 789-2545
Fax: (606) 789-6837
Map & DirectionsCSIP
W.R. Castle Elem.
Middle School
High School
Eagle Academy
Central Office
W.R. Castle Elementary
Phone: (606) 297-3738
Fax: (606) 297-7411
Map & DirectionsCSIP
Johnson Middle School
Phone: (606) 789-4133
Fax: (606) 789-4135
Map & DirectionsCSIP
Johnson High School
Phone: (606) 789-2500
Fax: (606) 789-2547
Map & DirectionsCSIP
Eagle Academy
Phone: (606) 789-2077
Fax: (606) 789-2525
Map & Directions
Central Office
Phone: (606) 789-2530
Fax: (606) 789-2506
Map & DirectionsCDIP